You are here

All is Set for Election of first Executive of the Media Association of Saint Lucia

Seventeen (17) media workers have accepted nominations to various positions on the first executive committee of the Media Association of Saint Lucia (MASL).  These individuals will vie for the seven (7) executive positions when the MASL elections are held on Sunday, February 12, 2012, at Monroe College.  Some candidates have been nominated for more than one office, however, they can be elected to only one position.

The compilation of the list of nominees follows an online nomination process that ended on January 31, 2012.  A total of sixty-five (65) nominations were received for the different executive positions, but some nominees have declined.  The Interim Committee of the Media Association of Saint Lucia (MASL) has expressed its satisfaction with the overwhelming response of media workers to the call for nominations.

The list of nominees is as follows:-

  • President: Delia Dolor (DBS) and Clinton Reynolds (DBS);
  • Vice President: Delia Dolor (DBS) and Clinton Reynolds (DBS);
  • Treasurer: Medalise Breen (RSL), Calvin Reynolds (Independent) and Glen Simon (GIS/NTN)
  • Secretary: Richmond Felix (Carib Webs), Micah George (The Voice), Claudia Monlouis (GIS/NTN), and Worrel St. Louis (Independent);
  • Communications Officer: Alisha Alley (Calabash TV), Maria Fontenelle (1000 Words Media), and Clinton Reynolds (DBS);
  • Floor Members: Alisha Ally (Calabash TV), Maria Fontenelle (1000 Words Media), Michael Gaspard (GIS/NTN/RSL), Jerry George (Independent), Micah George (The Voice), Jason Hullingseed (DBS), Lisa Joseph (Calabash TV/RCI), Julita Peter (GIS/NTN), Clinton Reynolds (DBS), Worrel St. Louis (Independent), Ernie Seon (Media Concepts/CMC), and Glen Simon (GIS/NTN).

Elections are set for Sunday, February 12, 2012 at Monroe College beginning at 4:00pm.  All members who wish to vote and nominated candidates, must be registered with the MASL by that time.  Registration is ongoing at and through paper registration forms. 

Although registration is being facilitated online, members must be present at Monroe College on Sunday to be able to vote.  Mr. Patrick Mathurin of the Ministry of Youth and Sports will chair the proceedings.  The Interim committee is urging all members to register and come out to participate in the process.

Site donated by Carib Webs